Middle School & High School Engagement:                  Work-Based Learning Experiences 

Help students explore career options and teach them the professional skills needed to be successful in today’s labor market!

Applied and work-based learning (WBL) allows students to apply classroom content in professional settings while gaining real-world experience. WBL exists on a continuum that reflects the progress of experiences from awareness-building to training. Students often cycle back through the continuum many times throughout their educational career. Educators play a critical role in ensuring these experiences are embedded into curriculum and support learning.

Contact us for support in integrating WBL activities into your classes to connect your students’ academic learning with real-world experiences!

We provide:
– industry classroom speakers
– college program highlight tours
– industry tours
– multi-program large scale college events
– professional development for educators
– assist schools to incorporate sector labor market information in their parent outreach efforts

MS/HS Engagement Coordinators, San Diego/Imperial County Regional Consortium:
Heather Cavazos – [email protected]
Health, ICT & Digital Media, Life Sciences & Biotechnology
Monica Rosas – [email protected]
Advanced Manufacturing, Advanced Transportation & Logistics, Business & Entrepreneurship,          Global Trade

Spring 2020 – more events coming soon! 

Imperial Valley College Day – Middle School Student Tour  
Tuesday, February 11, Wednesday, February 12 & Thursday, February 13, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
IVC Day – Flyer 2020
Event Pictures 

Women in Manufacturing & Engineering Student Event
Friday, March 6, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
San Diego City College
Women in Manufacturing Flyer 2020

Carollo Engineers Student Tour 
Friday, March 13, 2020
9:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Science Day – San Diego Festival of Science & Engineering 
Saturday, March 14, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
San Diego Miramar College
Science Festival Flyer 2020 

Pfizer & San Diego Miramar College Student Tour 
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Primo Wind & San Diego City College Student Tour 
Thursday, March 19, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Bioserv & San Diego Miramar College Student Tour 
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Dr. Bronner’s & MiraCosta College Student Tour 
Thursday, March 26, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Tri-City Medical Center & MiraCosta College Student Tour 
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Anderson Plumbing Heating/Air & Cuyamaca College Student Tour 
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

ScaleMatrix & Cuyamaca College Student Tour 
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

MiraCosta College Career Education Day – Student Event
Friday, April 24, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
MiraCosta College
MiraCosta Career Education Day 2020 Flyer

San Diego Blood Bank & Southwestern College Student Tour 
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Carlsbad Unified School District – Career Education Parent/Student Night 
Thursday, April 30, 2020
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Grossmont Union High School District – Career Education Parent/Student Night 
Thursday, May 14, 2020
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Fall 2019 

Sharp Allison deRose Rehabilitation Center Student Tour  
Tuesday, Decemeber 3, 2019
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Event Day Pictures

2019 Counselor Conference: Counseling for Careers
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
8:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Counselor Conference Resources

Health & Science Pipeline Initiative (HASPI) Educator Conference 
Thursday, October 24, 2019
8:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Handlery Hotel, 950 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
HASPI Educator Conference Resources

WD-40 & San Diego Mesa College Student Tour  
Friday, October 9, 2019
9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Event Day Pictures

Seaspine & MiraCosta College Student Tour  
Friday, October 4, 2019
9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Event Day Pictures

Thermo Fisher Scientific Student Tour  
Friday, October 4, 2019
9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Event Day Pictures

Advanced Manufacturing Day – Professional Development
Thursday, October 3, 2019
9:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Palomar College Rancho Bernardo – South Education Center
Event Day Pictures 

Regional Work-Based Learning Summit – Professional Development
Friday, September 20, 2019
San Diego Miramar College – Building L -105 Auditorium
9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Regional WBL Summit Resources

Innovative Cold Storage & Southwestern College Student Tour  
Thursday, August 29 2019
9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Event Day Pictures